Visas and Residence Permits

Promotion of cultural mobility and development of cooperation in the culture have been an important part of the cultural policy of the European Union particularly in the past decade. The European Union and its Member States contribute not only to mutual cooperation in culture but also establish cooperation with third countries and with the relevant international organisations. Both EU and non-EU citizens can benefit from this cooperation by participating, either actively or passively, in cultural events in individual Member States. Cultural mobility is nevertheless possible under the condition that the legal and factual requirements described in this section are met.

Issues relating to the entry and stay in our territory are an essential part of cross-border mobility of artists. There are different types of permits for movement in the territory of the Czech Republic, such as visas, residence permits, etc., with regard to the country of origin (citizenship) of the particular individuals.

The Czech Republic is a Member State of the European Union, and EU citizens are guaranteed four fundamental freedoms on the EU internal market: the free movement of goods, people, services, and capital. Every EU citizen has the right to live and work in another Member State.

Artists who are not EU citizens need residence permits to enter and stay in the Czech Republic, unless they are exempt from this requirement (see below). The conditions are laid down in European and national laws, specifically in the EU Visa Code, the Convention implementing the Schengen Agreement, the Schengen Borders Code and the Act on the Residence of Foreign Nationals in the Czech Republic.