Artists from the Third Countries

In the Czech Republic, the entry, stay and exit of third-country nationals is governed by Act No. 326/1999 Sb., on the Residence of Foreigner Nationals in the Czech Republic and on amending some other laws.

As stated above, type C visa enables a short-term stay. The procedure and conditions for the granting of the type C visa are regulated mainly by the Visa Code.

Type D visa enables a long-term stay and can be granted for the following purposes: medical treatment, participation in a cultural or sports event, a visit (invitation), an official (political) visit, a family visit, studies, training, scientific research, a business stay, and other reasons. Type D visa can be granted for up to twelve months.

A permanent residence permit can be issued if the third-country national has held a residence permit for five years and meets additional required criteria (secured livelihood, clean criminal records, passing an exam in the Czech language, etc.). EU Blue Card holders may be granted the permit before the end of this period if they meet the condition of five years of uninterrupted stay in the territory of an EU Member State as Blue Card holders.

There are more than 40 third countries whose nationals are exempt from the visa duty. These include Argentina, Australia, Malaysia, Singapore, and Venezuela. Their citizens may visit the Czech Republic for up to 90 days without visas. They may not, however, carry out gainful activities without a visa (under Regulation (EC) No 539/2001, Article 1, paragraph 2, in connection with Annex II).