Artists who are not EU citizens need valid residence permits for entry into the Czech Republic and for stay in its territory. Article 20 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the EU introduced the citizenship of the Union. Every person holding the nationality of a Member State is a citizen of the Union. Citizenship of the Union is additional to national citizenship and does not replace it.

Its conditions are set out in the following European and national legal regulations:

  • The EU Visa Code [29] – Regulation (EC) No 810/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 13 July 2009 establishing a Community Code on Visas (Visa Code)
  •  The Convention implementing the Schengen Agreement  of 14 June 1985 between the Governments of the States of the Benelux Economic Union, the Federal Republic of Germany and the French Republic on the gradual abolition of checks at their common borders            
  • The Schengen Borders Code – Regulation (EC) No 399/2016 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 9 March 2016
  • Act No. 326/1999 Sb., on the Residence of Foreigner Nationals in the Czech Republic


Apart from the Treaty of Lisbon, other European treaties also have influence on the mobility of artists. The most important of these is the Convention implementing the Schengen Agreement of 14 June 1985, based on Article 61 of the Treaty establishing the European Community on the gradual abolition of checks at the internal borders between the signatory countries, and the Schengen Borders Code containing rules for checks at the external borders of the Schengen Area.

The Visa Code, in effect from 5 April 2010, constitutes a binding legal basis for the issuance of short-term visas for stays in the Schengen Area (for up to 90 days) in all Member States of the Schengen Agreement. This code lays down the legal requirements for the issuance of visas and rules for the implementation of visa procedures, which are standardised for all Member States of the Schengen Agreement. Schengen Area members comprise the EU Member States except Cyprus, Romania, Bulgaria, and Croatia, as well as Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, and Liechtenstein. Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican are not part of Schengen officially, but the Schengen agreements are applied at their borders.


The Visa Code has also been signed by some countries that are not EU members (Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, and Liechtenstein). The Visa Code has been supplemented with twelve visa facilitation agreements with third countries which are valid in all the signatory countries with the exception of Denmark. Some of these third countries (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Moldova, Serbia, and Ukraine) are exempt from the visa requirement for short-term visits of up to 90 days. The list of the countries can be found on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic.

In addition, there is a number of special provisions restricting the Visa Code in some signatory countries.

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Ireland represent exceptions. Although they are EU Member States, they do not apply the common visa policy, have not signed the Visa Code and continue to govern their visa and residence requirements and procedures exclusively at the national level.

On 1 October 2012, simplified rules for artists took effect in Great Britain and Northern Ireland, differing notably from the Visa Code. Please bear in mind that the processing of your application may be protracted there. Applications for visas to Ireland may only be submitted  online.